Text Size

Current Size: 100%

MPs call for a rethink on train fares

4 February 2010
On Tuesday, 59 MPs stood up for train passengers by recognising their number one concern: high fares. [1]

MPs of all parties joined together to call for rail fares to be reviewed. [2] A review would look at bringing down the cost to make it easier for people to take the train instead of driving or flying.

Cat Hobbs, public transport campaigner at Campaign for Better Transport said: "More and more MPs are saying that fares cannot keep rising above inflation. Politicians are realising that expensive train tickets make it difficult for people to go green."

Notes to editors

[1] Passenger Focus report, Passengers’ priorities for improvements in rail services, July 2007

[2] On 2 February, 59 MPs endorsed Campaign for Better Transport’s call for a review of rail fares regulation. Photographs of the MPs with Train, Campaign for Better Transport’s fares mascot, are available online. Alternatively, you may contact the press office for them.

Campaign for Better Transport is calling on the Government to review and cut rail fares to make taking the train the easy option. Fare cuts could be paid for with a fuel tax on domestic flights. MPs supporting the the call for a review of rail fares regulation:

David Anderson, Blaydon
Charlotte Atkins, Staffordshire Moorlands
John Austin, Erith & Thamesmead
Norman Baker, Lewes
Celia Barlow, Hove
Tom Brake, Carshalton & Wallington
Paul Burstow, Sutton & Cheam
Michael Connarty, Linlithgow & East Falkirk
Jim Dobbin, Heywood & Middleton
Frank Dobson, Holborn & St Pancras
David Drew, Stroud
Bill Etherington, Sunderland North
Tim Farron, Westmorland & Lonsdale
Roger Gale, North Thanet
Sandra Gidley, Romsey
Nia Griffith, Llanelli
Mike Hancock, Portsmouth South
Nick Harvey, North Devon
Oliver Heald, North East Hertfordshire
Paul Holmes, Chesterfield
John Horam, Orpington
David Howarth, Cambridge
Joan Humble, Blackpool North & Fleetwood
Brian Iddon, Bolton South East
Eric Illsley, Barnsley Central
Gerald Kaufman, Manchester, Gorton
Alan Keen, Feltham and Heston
Paul Keetch, Hereford
Susan Kramer, Richmond Park
Stephen Ladyman, South Thanet
David Lepper, Brighton, Pavilion
Ian Liddell-Grainger, Bridgwater
Tony Lloyd, Manchester Central
Fiona Mactaggart, Slough
Humfrey Malins, Woking
Gordon Marsden, Blackpool South
Kerry McCarthy, Bristol East
Ian McCartney, Makerfield
Michael Moore, Berwickshire, Roxburgh & Selkirk
Elliot Morley, Scunthorpe
Lembit Öpik, Montgomeryshire
Richard Ottaway, Croydon South
Andrew Pelling, Croydon Central
Bridget Prentice, Lewisham East
Gwyn Prosser, Dover
Dan Rogerson, North Cornwall
Paul Rowen, Rochdale
Adrian Sanders, Torbay
Richard Shepherd, Aldridge-Brownhills
Chloe Smith, Norwich North
Anne Snelgrove, South Swindon
Bob Spink, Castle Point
Phyllis Starkey, Milton Keynes South West
Richard Taylor, Wyre Forest
Claire Ward, Watford
Stephen Williams, Bristol West
Jenny Willott, Cardiff Central
Anthony Wright, Great Yarmouth
Derek Wyatt, Sittingbourne & Sheppey